Third Circular

We invite you to register and attend the 14th International Congress of Acarology, to be held in Kyoto, Japan, from Monday 14 until Friday 18 July 2014. We look forward to meeting in Kyoto anyone with a keen interest in mites and/or ticks. In this circular, we would like to provide some information on abstract submission and proceedings published after the congress.

Abstract submission
Anyone interested to present his/her work is invited to submit a concise abstract. An abstract should reflect the general content of the presentation, including research question(s) and main results and conclusions in one page. Abstract template and example can be obtained from All abstracts will be edited by the organizers. Abstracts are submitted via the website after registration completed. Please send your abstract as soon as possible, but not later than 12 May 2014. Please note that the submission site will be automatically closed at 24:00 of Japanese Standard Time (JST).

Congress proceedings
Authors wishing to have full papers corresponding to their presentations considered for publication in the Proceedings of the Congress should submit their manuscripts before or on 18 July 2014 to the Editorial Office for ICA14 Proceedings. Guidelines for full paper submission to the Proceedings of the Congress have been uploaded to the electronic site of the congress (

Instructions for authors

More detailed information will be announced on the website (
To receive future announcements about the Congress, please register for Mail Magazine at
We are looking forward to your participation and are trying to organize a stimulating congress. As we begin planning sessions for the conference, your ideas are welcome. Please send your suggestions or any questions to the Local Organizing Committee (E-mail:

Local Organizing Committee Members

  • President: Hiroshi Amano
  • Vice-president: Fujio Kadono (President of the Acarological Society of Japan)
  • Secretariat-general: Masahiro Osakabe
  • General affairs department: Norihide Hinomoto (Manager), Shuichi Yano, Gen Takaku, Hidenari Kishimoto, Tomohide Matsuo, Katsura Ito, Shingo Toyoshima, Keiko Oku, Hideo Ohtake, Yasuki Kitashima, Kazumi Tagami, Satoshi Shimano
  • Treasurers: Naoki Mori, Taro Maeda
  • Scientific program: Koichi Goka, Kimiko Okabe
  • Publication: Tetsuo Gotoh, DeMar Taylor
  • Social communication: Yasuhiro Yano, Fujio Kadono